Photo of Mickie Swisher
Mickie Swisher
(PC: S. Jackson)

Dr. Mickie Swisher works with agricultural professionals and faculty members across the University of Florida and Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University to address the research and educational needs of Florida farmers and consumers. She has expertise in domestic and international community development and 25 years of experience with the Florida Cooperative Extension Service.

Research focus:

  • The impact of the contemporary food movement with its emphasis on certification (organic, free trade, bird friendly, etc.) and on class, gender, and ethnic stratification among both producers and consumers in the United States and elsewhere.

  • The scholarship of learning and teaching, in both formal (classroom) and informal (outreach) settings. This research includes theory-based development and evaluation of educational programs and interventions in the area of sustainable agriculture and food systems.